Uncategorized

Revisit my role in the end of my marriage

I am coming up on almost 4 months since I was told that the marriage is over. I would like to take the chance to remember and reflect about my role in the demise of my marriage. I want to do this to think briefly about some things that I can change.

Right now, I am working on things that make my life exciting. But I am not really working on certain character traits I know are abrasive about myself.

So here goes:

  1. I am insecure. About deserving to be happy. About body image. And I act accordingly.
  2. I am petty and I keep score. Largely triggered by insecurity and fear regarding money. One of my fears is that I wont get to live my life, because I was always in providing mode.
  3. I want to be right at the cost of being harsh. This stems for insecurity. I feel that people wont respect me unless I show them that I know my stuff.
  4. I want to control all outcomes. In essence I am controlling. This stems from my inability to deal with failure.
  5. I am unable to be happy for myself, because I give up on the source of my happiness. Pursue things that make you happy.
3 thoughts on “Revisit my role in the end of my marriage”

  1. I’m really glad you took the time and effort to reflect, because they say the first step to a better change is awareness. Do know you’re not alone as we all have flaws – I, too, feel insecure at times and I have a low self-esteem, and I’m working on these. I hope my comment is of some comfort to you. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It takes so much strength to be honest about your flaws, but it’s the first step to becoming a better version of yourself. I’m so sorry for the painful experience you’re going through. You seem like an wonderful, thoughtful person!

    Like

Leave a Reply

